IMAG0016

IMAG0242I just looked at the date of my last post and I realized it’s been a while since I’ve added a new post. After all that hoopla about a new beginnings yada yada yada….i dropped the ball; but, not really. Since the New Year, I have made some positive steps toward changing things in my life…regaining some of who I used to be and trying so hard to get back to running (consistently). I think, in the New Year, I was intending it all to go a little faster…you know all the garbage about getting back to doing the things I love…but I guess evolution takes time.

So what has inspired me lately??? I guess it’s been a series of things but honestly, one of the biggest and most positive changes I have made was running without music. I know, right??? Sounds nuts…like how could something so innocuous have such a huge impact right?? Especially for me…someone who can’t function in a car without having the radio blaring…

Funny side note story…I was driving to work the other day and it was such a beautiful day, I had the sun roof open and I was BLARING my radio. I was listing to all my gansta rap (cuz you know I’m such an OG), and as I pulled into the parking garage, found my spot and started to back into the spot, I looked up and saw the parking attendant dancing to my song but motioning to me to turn my f’n radio down. Hilarious! At least I thought it was….

But anyway back to my no music while running thing…it turns out, that listening to music kept me for the main reason why I run in the first place. Running, for me, is the one time when I really get to focus on things I’m dealing with and sort through them to make sense of it all. When I started listen to music and tracking my times and mileage, I started to get away from the therapeutic reason for running and was focusing too much on my type A tendency to be a competitive ahole. The minute I turned off the music, I started to regain my perspective on what next…I’ve been doing a lot of thinking lately and though I don’t have a complete picture on what’s next 5, 10, 15 years down the road…I do know what’s next for now…

On that note, I had a FANTASIC run yesterday. The day could not have been more perfect. Washington spring mornings can only be compared to Washington fall mornings. Check out some of the pics….

