Greetings my little nuggets!  Long time no blog, right? 

Life, since my last post, has been hectic to say the least…right after the Woodrow Wilson ½ in 2011 I became all consumed by my job…my position changed which required me to become more type A than I already was/is which, in turn, led to 10 -12 hour work days, lots of bottles of wine and no time (and really no motivation) for running.   As a result, I developed a persistent pain in my neck that still runs down the right side of my back, an unhealthy love for alcohol…oh, and a bad case of Office Chair Ass, also known as OCA. 

In addition to my job, life at home has been kinda nuts; kids back from school, kids going off to school, baby bear 1 getting married (oh gawd, I’m gonna have a son-in-law and then there will be 7).  Right now, we are down to the three of us at home…well, four if you include Randal.  I don’t have an excuse.  I guess you could say that I never really did have an excuse.  I was just using some minor difficulties as a way to not run in the cold…so the time is now. 

For the past several weeks, I have been trying to get back into running and I’ve been setting my sites (or is it sights) on running another ½ marathon…it’s been a real struggle to get back into shape.  I can’t seem to shed the 10 lbs I found after I stopped running last fall but I am finally getting to a point where I can run more than three miles without huffing and puffing and grunting like a bull dog.  Last Sunday morning I was able to squeeze out just over 10 miles and I felt pretty good during and after the run.   So, I think I’m gonna commit to the Woodrow Wilson ½ this year.   It’s just less than 4 weeks away…if I am strict about my training between now and then, I think I can do it.  I think the only thing that’s really holding me back right now is me.  I have it in my head that the next ½ I do, I have to do it in under 2:30.  If I had stayed on track last year…I would have been able to do that with my eyes closed but now, that’s really not a valid goal.  I’m psyching myself out so much over this I’m beginning to feel that pain down my back even as I type this.  So vhat to do, vhat to do….I need to just put my big girl pants on and just do it!  Ghah!!!!

With that, I’m off to track practice!  Have a good night all and wish me luck.

 

