Hey there kitty cats.  Happy Monday. 

Wish I could say happy Monday and actually mean it.  I’m in a blue funk for multiple reasons but most especially because I got hurt running the Pacers 5K last Friday night.   I’M SO PISSED I can’t think straight.  I was finally starting to see some real improvements with my running and then *BHAM!* I’m outta commission.  OOOOOOOOOOO, I’m so mad.   I pulled my hamstring right after mile 2 during the race.  To be fair, it wasn’t just the 5K.  I started to feel a little pain toward the end of the 10K I ran the Sunday before…then, the Tuesday night track workout made it a little worse…then, the 5K on Friday just pushed me over the edge.  I had to walk over the finish line I was in so much pain.  Only bright side of that story was I did finally get under 10 minute miles…just under but I did it and if I hadn’t been maimed before the end I would have done a lot better.  And, the race itself was really fun.  Next year I’m gonna have to try to do the whole series which is every Friday night in the month of April.  It was a great atmosphere for a race…people were so into it even in the pouring rain and 40 degree weather. 

Here’s a picture of a guy who showed up in a women’s red dress.

 It was American Heart Association night and all the runners were encouraged to wear a red dress…I was amazed by how many people showed up wearing full on evening gowns and what not….with no sleeves, standing in the freezing cold. Talk about commitment to the theme!  There was this one tool who was dressed up in an old lady red dress, wearing a wig and Chuck Taylors.  I say he’s a tool not because of his attire (cuz his attire goes without saying) but because he felt the need to jump both feet into every single puddle no matter how deep.  “Really Jackass?  How old are you??” Yeah, you could say who cares we were already wet from the rain but dude, my feet were pretty dry until that puddle jump’n Ahole got me 100% wet.  I shouldah given him the forearm shiver!

So now, in the aftermath of my injury, I’m having a little pitty party for myself hoping that I can get back to my training soon.  For every day I don’t run, the chances of me giving up on my training all together increases 10 fold.  I’m such an all or nothing kinda gal.  I really hate that about myself.  And yet, as much as I hate it, I still continue to do it.  Acceptance without change has always been my motto. 

My plan of action (POA) for now is to lay off any sort of exercise tonight and see how I do tomorrow night at the track workout.  Fingers Crossed!!!  If this doesn’t work, I already see the whole downward spiral starting to happen….no more gym, no more diet!  Egad!!!!  HELP!

If any of you guys have any advice as to how I can get over this sooner rather than later, let me know.  I’m pretty willing to try anything at this point….within reason that is. I need to be ready for the 8k on Sunday….I’m running as part of a team so I can’t have some bum leg holding everyone up….How’s that for some added pressure??? 

Till next time panda bears….keep on running, even though I can’t. 

