Hi my little tootsie rolls! I was told by one of my readers not to use any nicknames that relate to some sort of confection, but since I gave up alcohol for Lent the only vice I’m able to indulge in is sweets so that’s all I can think of right now…so the reader who made that comment…just deal with it!!!

The other night my husband and I were watching the Biggest Loser. Now wait, before any of you start hate’n on me for watching such a stupid show, I want you to think about the list of TV shows you watch and I’m sure somewhere in your garbage TV repertoire you are addicted to some show that’s worse than the Biggest Loser (and yes, Dr. Phil and Oprah are garbage). Anyway..we were watching TBL as we like to call it, and on the show this week the contestants were faced with having to run a 5K. As is the norm for any “reality” TV show, the producers interview the contestants on the show and get their personal input on some issue that’s happening on show…for example; on TBL they had these video clips of the contestants giving their personal testimony about how hard a “5K Challenge” is for them. I leaned over to my husband and commented with absolute disgust ….”are you kidding me??? A 5K???? What are these fatties moaning about???? Geeze, grow a pair and just do it.”  To which my husband quickly responded in defense of the fatties “they’re all out of shape loads” ( I might have paraphrased here) to which then, I responded, “they’ve been working out all day long for the past several months being trained by some of the best trainers in the world…I don’t care how fat they are, a 5K is so easy even a 7 year old can do it.” Like that…little plug for my Bella there???

Well, my little reeses peanut butter cups, after last night, I have to eat my words and offer my apologies to TBL contestants because the workout my coach put me through last night made me realize just how hard a 5K can be. Our running workout usually goes well beyond 5k in running so when our coach told us we probably wouldn’t even reach the 5k mark last night I was like awesome this is gonna be a breeze…yeah, not so much. He had us doing this workout circuit that went something like this:

Run 600 meters then at the end of 600 meters run at full sprint between these three cones at one and one half repeats then run back 600 meters, stop, hop on one foot for 50 meters then back on your opposite foot, run 200 meters doing a weaving out in back between 10 cones stop and do some sort of strength training like 20 pushups at the end, then do it all over again with a different strength exercise at the end of each set 5 times.

I seriously thought I was going to die…this is what I felt like at the end of that workout

 

I lost 2.5 pounds yesterday as a result of that workout and I even had Uno’s Pizza for dinner….man, that was a workout!!! But looking back on it, it was kinda fun. I haven’t hopped on one leg since I was like 8. Well, time to fly…my little Mike and Ike’s! Till next time, keep on running!!!

Oh wait..one more thing…I”m running the Pikes Peek 10K on Sunday…wish me luck!!!  My goal is to beat any previous time by 2 minutes.

