Since Friday night,  I think I might have had a total of 6 or 7 hours sleep so when I woke this morning for my sunday morning run,I was less than excited about pushing out 4 or 5 miles.  Add the fact that it snowed last night and all my winter running clothes were in the wash,  and you have the perfect recipe for me wanting to get under the covers and go back to bed.  But, I didn’t.  I dragged my salty ass out in the cold, grabbed a cup of coffee at Starbucks and drove to Burk Lake Park to meet up with my running group.  When I got there, there was no sign of the group anywhere.  “Yes!” I thought to myself, the perfect reason for me to pack up and head back home to my warm bed.  To be perfectly honest, the old Lynda would have done just that, but for some reason, I reached for my phone, called my coach and found out where my group was so I could meet up with them.  I know that sounds like no great feat, but dudes…you just don’t understand!!! That is soooo not like me.  Not only would I normally try to find every reason not to run but I also would have been mortified to be the loser who couldn’t find the group and was holding everyone up.  But the fact of the matter was, I called!!  I found my group AND I didn’t care if they thought I was a loser.  I wanted to run and I did it!!! It wasn’t the easiest run I’ve ever had, in fact, it was one of the more painful ones but I did it!  I don’t wanna be all Nike commercial and all but I did it.  I pushed through all the obstacles and I got it done. 4.23 miles in the snow and now I feel awesome.  Not only to I feel good from the run, I feel awesome cuz there were no excuses.  Damn that felt good. 

But wait…that’s not all!!!   As if there could be anything else, there was!  In addition to my personal triumph, I saw several Blue Herons nesting on the lake.  It was the coolest thing EVER..okay maybe not but it was pretty cool.  Have you ever seen a Blue Heron?  Here’s what they look like .  Pretty majestic don’t ya think?  Just think, if i had stayed in bed the coolest thing I would have seen this morning was my daughter’s neurotic greyhound trying to fit her 60 pound lanky body in my little 20 pound pug’s bed.  And though that was comical to witness…it wasn’t majestic by any stretch of the imagination. 

Lastly,  this weekend I committed to 1 5K, 1, 8K and 1 15K.  This is gonna be a busy running season and best of all my little miss B is gonna be running with me for the 5K.  7 years old and running her first 5K.  Isn’t that awesome?   I”m sure I’ll be writing more about that  as the race gets closer.  I just wanted to mention it cuz we just singed up last night.  I’m so excited for her.   

Well, it’s time for me to try to get some much-needed sleep.  I”m hoping there will be no problem tonight. 

Good night my nuggets and happy running.

