Hokay…so here I go again.  I’m gonna try this blog thing one more time but this time  I have decided to steer clear of focusing on training for one race.  When I started this blog last year, I thought if I narrowed my focus to training for the MCM, I would be able to manage the posts and keep true to the “theme” of my blog.  Yeah, it turns out that’s a terrible idea.  Anything that has a “theme” is a terrible idea to begin with..I have no idea what I was thinking.  I started getting all stressed out if I missed a training day and as you can see, when I fell short of my goal the entire site was rendered pointless.  Sorta the theme of my life; instead of focusing on long-term lifestyle changes, I focus on specific goals and when those goals aren’t met, I feel like a failure.  Hmmmm. 

So this time, I’m gonna just write about running and training in general.  Yes, I am signed up for a race this year, and yes I do have a goal but the goal is more a PR goal rather than a goal of just finishing a race.   Ya know, running is really kind of a funny sport to get into.  It’s a perfect sport for us Type A personalities because there is always a new goal that can be set.  Whether it’s a new PR or a longer distance or number of races done in one year, there is always a way to better yourself and Type A’s LOVE that about running.   But, the more I think about running and the reason why I’ve done it for so many years (on and off), the more I am starting to realize that it’s more than just the goal setting aspect of it because if that was the case,  I could get into a thousand different sports.  No, there is something different about running that I love…and I might have mentioned this in an earlier post, but I think it has a lot to do with the primality of running.   It’s so instinctual and so basic it’s perfect.  I mean look at a kid when he or she is running.  It is one of the funnest things in the entire world …their face says it all… you see nothing more than a big fat grin from ear to ear.    *Side note: the coach of my new running group just recently told me, “if you want to see perfect running form, just watch a kid run.  Their form is perfect because they aren’t thinking too hard at it.”   Interesting observation….but I digress.  As a form of exercise, running couldn’t be more simplistic…all you need is a pair of running shoes and an open road….

Okay, maybe you need a couple of other things…but really, not much more.  But ya know, the thing that is the coolest of all about running  is that it gets you outside and even if you live in the city it forces you to notice your surroundings.  I don’t want to say “it gets you in touch with nature” cuz that sounds super lame…I’m certianly no tree hugg’n hippie type and it makes me nervous when I start to say anything that even remotely resembles the hippie mentality but the fact of the matter is…it does.  I first noticed it when I started to come across road kill.  Yeah..I know, strange way to notice nature but it’s hard not to when the smell of a rotting carcass, on the side of the road, in the middle of July, is sooooo pungent you feel it down in your inner core. WOICK!  If you’re a runner, you know exactly what I’m talking about…at first it’s repulsive but after you’ve come across hundreds of them,  you start to notice certain subtleties about them..you can start to tell what kind of animal it was even if it’s plastered to road with no distinguishing features left.  You can tell how long it has been dead by how badly it’s suffering from riggo…it’s just amazing and so humbling to witness.  It makes you realize that we are such a small part in this whole network of shit that’s going on around us.  And that my friend, you will NEVER get from riding in your car. 

So, nuff of the hippy crap for the day….I will leave you with this….

That day, for no particular reason, I decided to go for a little run. So, I ran to the end of the road, and when I got there, I thought maybe I’d run to the end of town. And when I got there, I thought maybe I’d just run across Greenbow County. And I figured since I run this far, maybe I’d just run across the great state of Alabama. And that’s what I did. I ran clear across Alabama. For no particular reason, I just kept on going. I ran clear to the ocean. And when I got there, I figured since I’d gone this far, I might as well turn around, just keep on going. When I got to another ocean, I figured since I’ve gone this far, I might as well just turn back, keep right on going. When I got tired, I slept. When I got hungry, I ate. When I had to go, you know, I went. My mama always said you got to put the past behind you before you can move on. And I think that’s what my running was all about. I had run for three years, two months, 14 days, and 16 hours.”
 

  Happy running my little nuggets!

