Greetings my little nuggets!  Miss me?  I’m so sorry it’s been such a long time.  Again, life seems to keep getting in the way of my running and writing these days.  Between graduations, May processions, and trips to the southwest, I barely have time to shave my legs!  Yeah, too much info I know. 

So, let me catch you up on my running/training.  It’s a dismal picture….because I have been tied up the last several weekends, I didn’t  get a chance to start any of the group marathon training programs so it looks like I’m going it alone.  Right now, when the weekly mileage is pretty low, it’s not that big of a deal but man I’m gonna be struggling when I’m doing 20 mile long runs by myself.  I’m gonna have to get really creative with how I entertain myself but I keep telling myself it’ll make me a better man.  I just need to put my big girl pants on and deal with it. 

The good news is I have been keeping up on my training runs for the most part.  One of the coolest things about running is that when you do get a chance to run in different places it can be fun and kinda exciting.  Last week I was in New Mexico…Albuquerque to be exact.  I was out there for work and had the opportunity to visit my bestest nugget ever, Liza Lou!!!  As many of you may know, Albuquerque is about 5,000 feet above sea level.  Usually when I’m there it takes me a day or two to get acclimated to the lack of oxygen but this time wasn’t too bad.  I only had to use my puffer once (I’ve got asthma and I call my inhaler my puffer…in case you were wondering).  The weather was ideal for running so I had a chance to venture out and enjoy the desert scenery.   I know a lot of people don’t really like the desert, but I find it absolutely fascinating.  I’m totally blown away by how an area that can be so harsh and physically dangerous to humans can produce such beautiful plants and flowers.  Here are a couple of photos I took along my route one day.  Miss Liza Lou will have to identify what they are…if she has the time.  I have no idea what I was looking at I just thought these plants were cool. 

Since I have returned from NM (4 days ago), I haven’t really had a chance to run until last night.  I’m not a great traveler and don’t do well with jetlag.  Hell, I have issues when we have to set the clocks back an hour in the fall so needless to say, I’ve been dragg’n butt the past couple of days and have been putting off running, but I forced myself out last night.  I was thinking of every excuse in the book not to do it…I was at work late last night procrastinating as much as I could but I knew I had to do it.  I first was gonna run by my office so I changed into my running gear and started to head out…just then, I noticed that I didn’t have the earphones for my iPod…”damn it!”  Normally, in the mood that I was, I would have just said the hell with it and went home.  I did jump in my car but I headed out of town to the Mount Vernon trail and parked at Gravelly Point.  I was soooo not looking forward to running but I mentally pushed myself out onto the trail and started running.  I kept telling myself, even if you only do a mile It’s better than doing nothing at all.  I popped a sugar free lifesaver in my mouth and headed out.  An hour and 6 miles later, I was done!!!!!!  I did it.  I was so proud of myself and felt like the biggest badass!  I know I’m pretty lame sometimes but hey, in my mind I’m a superstar!  And I guess in the end, that’s all that matters. 

Well, gotta run…there’s work to be done.  Happy trails to you all and remember to keep on running!!!

