Hello to all my little runners and runner wannabes out there!  Sorry it’s been such a long time since last I updated this blog but there are these little things like work and family that make it kinda hard to not only run but keep up with this blog as well.  I’m not really trying to make an excuse…just tell’n ya why I haven’t been around.

So nuff of that.  I’m back to running in full force and have a whole new energy to go with it today.  Last night I had the most awesome run!!!  I got home early from work, the fam wasn’t home so I decided to trek on down to the Mount Vernon Trail to get my miles in.  For those of you who don’t know, the MVT is a really beautiful trail that starts at Theodore Roosevelt Island and runs along the Potomac to Mount Vernon.  It goes by National Airport and through Old Town Alexandria.  Click here for a map. It’s a great biking trail and I don’t normally like to run on it because of all the bikers.  I’m not a big fan of bikers but I’ll save that for a different blog – that’s a rant of mine that can easily take up a whole blog post.  But anyway, I digress.   So I parked at Daingerfield Island and decided to run south – at that point,  it’s much easier to go south because there are no hills and I was not feeling this run whatsoever.  I was tired and just wanted to get it over and done with but you know, that’s the funny thing about running.  You can never tell what kinda run you’re gonna have until you’ve had it and last night was no exception to this rule.  I put my game face on, told myself I’ll walk if I have to, and just started running.  Well, after about 2 minutes, I got into a zone and started to haul the proverbial ass.  I was so excited; I was doing sub 9 minute miles.  Now I know that’s not great to most runners out there but considering that only last year I was doing 12 minute miles this is a GREAT milestone for me.  I haven’t run this fast since my early 30s.  I don’t know if it was the smell of the honeysuckle in full effect or if it was just the right temperature but dude I was feel’n it and it was AWESOME!  I actually felt like a real runner for a change and was smiling and waving at everyone like I was a rock star.  I remember passing this guy going the opposite direction and he had the same pained face that I normally do; looking like he was struggling with every step and I smiled at him and breezed on by. 

Personal best aside, this is a really nice trail as I said earlier.  Oh and that brings me to another point…not only was averaging 8.4 minute miles, I EVEN stopped to take a couple of photos so I might have been able to  get to 8 minute miles had I not stopped.   Next time we shall see.  But for now, here are some of the photos I took along the way.

The top left is just a photo of the marsh that is right by the island where I parked.  There was something jump’n around in there so I decided not to get too close.  I hate to admit it but I’m not as in tune with nature as I’d like to be.  If I can’t identify it as being human, feline, or canine, I don’t want to have any part of it…well, I don’t want to be close to it without having an electric fence and moat between me and whatever it is.  The top middle photo is one of the fence-covered bridges along the trail.  As you can see, they are pretty cool when there is some sort of foliage on them…they provide great shade but they make for close quarters when you put a bunch of bikers, walkers and runners on the trail.  You can’t see it in this photo, but the woman on the bike was snarling at me because I stopped dead on the trail to take this picture and could have caused a major incident by doing so.    In the bottom left photo, if you look across the river you will see where some of the secrete squirrel stuff goes on in DC.   I can’t tell you what it is…but I can tell you, the stuff that goes on over there is just the kinda of things  that would make most of us stay up nights starring at the ceiling.  I’m just kidding, its’ the sewer treatment plant for DC.  Sorry.  Don’t know why I just said that. 

Alright, that’s enough for today.  I will leave you all with good wishes and happy running!!!  Peace.

