Home is where I want to be
Pick me up and turn me round
I feel numb – born with a weak heart
I guess I must be having fun
The less we say about it the better
Make it up as we go along
Feet on the ground
Head in the sky
It’s ok I know nothing’s wrong . . nothing

Hola mi amigos!  What a beautiful day for a run.  The sun was shining, the temperature is still nice and cool – couldn’t have ordered up a more perfect day.   As I was running tonight, I was listening to the Talking Heads.  Side note, I loves me some David Byrne and I particularly love that the majority of his songs had nothing to do with love or loving someone or whatever.  I find love songs to be trite and corny so when David Byrne attempted to write a love song with “This Must Be the Place,” I totally got it…but the beauty of the whole thing is that this can be used for expressing love for just about anything…not just about another person.  When I listen to this song, I feel almost hypnotized by the trance-like sounds of the music and then if you listen to the words they are just a bunch of random phases that he strung together to describe some sort of deep emotion that he was feeling about someone in his life at the time.   I bet at this point you’re probably thinking, “Lynda, do you have a point??”  Yeah, I wish I did…but sadly, no.  I just really enjoy that song.  As I was listening to it, I was sorta creating a  little story line in my head using the people around me to tell the story.  I was watching this couple stopping in front of the Lincoln Memorial taking a picture…the girl was posed up on one of the pillars by the stairs while the dude was stepping back trying to capture a shot that got both the beauty of the girl he was with and the history represented in the memorial behind her.   They were so into each other…. like totally in the moment – they didn’t even notice me running toward them…I tried to be polite and not interrupt by running behind the guy…didn’t want to become immortalized in some stranger’s photo album – “Oh yeah, that’s the dumb @#$CH who jacked up our  Kodak moment. ”  I was thinking how cute they were together – they kinda brought the words of the song to life for me. 

Okay, so back to the running part.  I was having kind of  a difficult run..my legs were KILLING me from the race on Sunday.  I made the mistake of not running on Monday so my legs were really tight.  I felt like I was dragg’n lead pipes along with me.  It’s so funny how your body reacts isn’t it?   I mean the slightest change in speed or distance and you have to wait a day or two for your body to catch up…well, I guess when you’re young you don’t but at my age you do. 

I kinda messed up my running schedule this week .  Since I skipped Monday and ran on Tuesday, my alternate days are off.  I won’t run again till Thursday and then not again till the weekend.  I need to get myself disciplined!!!  I’m waaay too cavalier about my training.  In May, I’m starting DCFIT.  It’s a local training program that is designed to help anyone, beginner or expert train for a marathon or 1/2 marathon…or just to have fun.  I hope that by joining this group I’ll be a little more motivated to stick to the plan. 

Okay so one last thing.  I’ve been trying to get reciprocal links on this blog to get more traffic to the site.  I’ve requested that my blog get listed on this website called runningskirts.com.  I have them listed as you can see (look to the right) as one of my links.  This is an awesome site.  They have the cutest running skirts EVER..they even have a Mini Mouse one.  I have a black one that I get compliments all the time because of the two little runners on the front of the skirt.  The company was founded by these identical twins (I guess that’s the two little runners on the skirt..duh)…the site has tons of photos of them and tells how the business was started.  I get all choked up when women are successful in small business ventures – I wish you continued success ladies!  And to prove how cool these women are, they listed my blog on their blog page!  WHOO HOO !!  Can I get an up top for RunningSkirts.com?  If you’re female and a runner, you have to grab one of these skirts! 

Well, it’s time for me to fly….try to stay inspired and keep on running!!!

