Hey all.  I’m feeling kinda crappy tonight.  It’s 9:58 PM on day 3 of my “official” training and I have missed a training run.  In my defense, I had a hella day.  Today was take-your-sons-and-daughters-to-work day.  Sounds fun right?  I’m sure is was and I’m sure I’ll look back on the day fondly when I’m like 60 but for now, let’s just say…I’m glad to be done with it.  Don’t get me wrong…love my kids and was very happy to be able to bring them to work with me. It was nice to provide them with a glimpse of what I do and where I am all day long, but I got roped into chaperoning the 5 – 7 year olds all morning.  Yes, they are cute but having twelve of them to watch over for several hours was a little more than I was ready for today.  For some reason I woke up at 4:30 AM and couldn’t get back to sleep.  For a brief moment, I thought about just getting out of bed and going running you know, just to get it behind me but I just could not commit.  I only had like 4 hours of sleep (tried to stay up to see the end of the OTT vs. Penns game) and the thought of dragging myself out of bed and running in my hood at 5:00 AM just didn’t seem to get it for me.  In hind sight, that’s what I prolly should have done but I was optimistic that I could get a run in after the sons and daughters day. 

So at days’ end, I’m sitting in my bed watching the post game commentary about the disappointing CAPS game tonight feeling tired and bummed that I was a load today….BUT on the bright side, I did make it to Rockville today to register for the Pikes Peak 10K.   It’s a local race that will be run this Sunday.  AND, as an added bonus, Willie and Bella (my son and one of my three daughters) are running it with me!!!  I’m so excited.  This is a great run.  The set up is kinda strange.  You start at the Shady Grove Metro station and run down Rockville Pike until you get to White Flint Mall.  When you’re done, you have to take the Metro back to Shady Grove to get your car.  It’s a great run..flat, fast, and there are a lot of spectators pushing you to the finish line.  It’s the oddest thing running down Rockville Pike.  For those you all who know the area, you might know what I’m talking about.  This road is one of the busiest roads in the entire Metro area and when they block off  the whole road just for a bunch of weekend warrior runners it just kinda messes with you chi or something.  I’m so used to sitting in my car in hella traffic getting all pissed off at dumbass drivers when I’m on this road it’s just so bizarre to be running on it. It gives you an entirely different perspective of the whole road.  You notice buildings and businesses you never do while you’re sitting there focused on the tool in front of you who just made you miss the light for the third time in a row.  But, you know, I guess that’s one of the cool things about running.  When you run on a road, your point of view is so entirely different from when you’re driving in a car on the same exact road.  You become so much more intimate with your surroundings.  You notice every little dip in the road and dead animal pasted to the tarmac.  It’s like you become part of the whole thing rather then just a passenger in a car whose only use for the road it to get you from point A to point B.  When you run, the road itself is so much more…it becomes a part of your whole experience.  I don’t know..I think I’m getting too loopy from my lack of sleep.  I sound waaaay too Zen for my comfort.  I guess that means it’s time for me to call it a night.  I need to get a good night sleep so I can get in the training run tomorrow and still be able to run the race on Sunday.  That actually brings up one final point…I’d love to hear from anyone out there about how sleep affects your runs.  I have noticed that after bad night’s sleep I suffer from the effects on runs for days after my discontented slumber.  Is there anything that you do to help with this kinda situation.  It’s no big deal now in the beginning of the training but toward the end when you have to run 20 – 23 miles, it does have a huge impact. 

Peace my brothers and sisters!

