I’ve Done It; Richmond Here I Come!


Image   

I made the commitment…I’m all signed up for the Richmond ½.  This is gonna be my first race in 2012 (excluding the Love the Run Your With 5K on Valentine’s Day).   Normally, by this time in the year I would have run at least a ½ dozen races two of which would have been ½ marathons.  This year has been such a bust as far as running is concerned that’s why I’m a little nervous about running this race.  But what’s the worst that can happen?   I’ll tell ya what would be the worst….coming in DEAD LAST.  I know there always has to be someone who is first and likewise there always has to be someone that is last, but hot damn it!  I don’t want to be that person.    That’s really one of my biggest fears of running any race.  Every time I am standing on the starting line I’m filled with the anxiety of being that very last person to cross the finish line.  I’m 100% sure that this anxiety comes from some traumatic event that happened back in elementary school that I have decided to block out for obvious reasons but the actually physical response caused by the anxiety, driven by that event, still exists somewhere in my sub conscience.    Elementary school really is a bad time by the way.  Ugh, I could spend hours talking about the mental anguish that I suffered during my formative years but that’s an entirely different blog. 

So, here we go 28 days and counting.   As my coach said to me on Tuesday night, “you’ve got a lot of work to do.”  Thanks coach; as if I wasn’t already freaking the hell out.  Well, it is what it is…I’ve got 28 days to worry or to focus my energy toward finishing this thing cuz not only do I want to NOT finish last, I want this to be a PR.  Any advice from you veterans out there is welcome. 

Till next time adios and vaya con dios!

  1. #1 by hemingwayrun on October 12, 2012 - 3:18 pm

    I always worry about coming last, I was rubbish at sport at school. I’m sure you’ll do fine, there’s always some people that do zero training. Good luck!

  2. #3 by girlybeerrunner on October 13, 2012 - 1:15 pm

    I’m running Richmond too! The full (my first), but I have two friends running the half. And you won’t come in last :) but if you do, I’ve volunteered at these things before- a lot of times you get extra volunteer support, and they’re cheering on JUST YOU lol

    • #4 by lyndariv on October 13, 2012 - 2:34 pm

      Oh gawd…my anxiety level just got worse!

Leave a Reply

Life according to me

It's just what I think

Run, Hemingway, Run!

Marc Hemingway: Going from couch potato to runner bean...!

I Heart Change

Everything. Unedited.

Running For Life

NO MORE Marathon Training

Lizzy's Little Thoughts

join me in my high school! yay!

Drumroll Please....!

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Good To Grow

A place for plant and garden lovers to unite

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

